British Library Labs Awards 2016 - Judging process

Each Awards entry will be assessed by an independent panel of experienced researchers, experts and British Library staff following this process:
  1. The judging panel will use the 'Assessment criteria' below to evaluate each entry at the Awards judging meeting.
  2. All entries must be received by midnight BST on Monday 5th September 2016 in order to qualify for the Awards.
  3. If an entry has been shortlisted, entrants will be notified by midnight BST on Wednesday 21st September 2016.
  4. Shortlisted entrants will be invited to the British Library Labs Symposium on Monday 7th November 2016 at the British Library, St Pancras to learn if they have won.
  5. One winner and one runner up will be chosen for each category (Research, Artistic, Commercial and Teaching / Learning) by the judging panel and this will be announced at the Symposium.
  6. A prize of £500 will be awarded to the winner and £100 to the runner up in each category.
  7. It is possible that the same entrant(s) can win in more than one category.
  8. The winners’ work will be highlighted at the Symposium.

Assessment criteria

The panel will assess all entries using the following criteria:
  1. The value and clarity of the research question, problem and / or challenge posed.
  2. The extent to which the work showcases British Library digital content and its potential for wider use.
  3. The quality of the research approach and / or methods used.
  4. The challenges the work faced and how these were overcome.
  5. The appropriateness of the entry to the category under which it was entered.
  6. Whether the legal terms of use for the digital collections identified have been checked and compliance demonstrated in the work.
  7. Whether the work contains information that ensures that it does not in any way infringe intellectual property rights or any other rights of any third party.

Research Award

This category is for work that has been carried out in the context of a research project or activity. It should show the development of new knowledge about the British Library's digital content, research methods, or tools.

Artistic Award

This category is for work that uses the British Library's digital content in the context of artistic or creative endeavours. It should inspire, stimulate, amaze and provoke.

Commercial Award

This category is for work that delivers or develops commercial value. It could be in the context of new products, tools, or services that build on, incorporate, or enhance the British Library's digital content to produce commercial value.

Teaching / Learning Award

This is work that has been created in a teaching and / or learning context using the British Library’s digital content / data. It would clearly show how it has been used to provide quality learning experiences to learners of any age and ability.